Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Ruby Tuesday

Ten days until Fash leaves for the four hours away college. I'm trying to savor every moment with her. Today we went with our friend and neighbor, Amy, to the beach. I found a few rubies for Ruby Tuesday, hosted by Mary the Teach at Work of the Poet. I found out about Ruby Tuesday from Jientje at Heaven is in Belgium, but it is actually Mary's meme- more rubies at her blog.


Walked out on the pier...


Fash and Amy with Big Ben...


Red flag means swim at your own risk. To me this means too windy, big waves, strong rip current beneath, don't swim...



But wind is good for kite flying...



What is hiding under the sand...


Hi!


As you near the eateries and shops, you find bowls of water on the boardwalk that shop owners have placed there to quench the thirst of visiting dogs...




These next dogs are stuck on a stick, dipped in batter and fried before your very eyes, then painted one side with ketchup and one side with mustard, all for $1.75. And gosh they taste so good...



One for Fash, ketchup side out, two for Amy, mustard side out...



Don't look at the next picture if you are easily offended. Really. Just skip ahead...










We didn't buy the t-shirt, but really- people have been eating these pups for 63 years?!


A redhead on a red bench- and Fash...


Sorry. Couldn't resist...


Maybe that's the one you shoulda skipped.


Heidi

8 comments:

Skoots1moM said...

bet his back hurts...
love all your pics
especially the girls on the bench...
dropped my dd off @ college this past saturday...
hard keeping my mind on other things...i feel the need for a new hobby or else i'll start eating myself out of house and home
Prayers for an easy transition...if you ever want to relate mom-mom, come visit ;)

Jientje said...

You had fun with this didn't you? I love all your pictures, especially the lighthouse. I LOVE lighthouses!

Mari said...

Ha, ha - I loved this one!
That first picture of the lighthouse is awesome!

sara said...

my eyes! my eyes!!!

ya, should have skipped the last one...ewwww!!

I am taking my son in 2 days....waaaaaah! I really thought this 2nd one would be easier..I was fooling myself. As this week started, it has hit me like a ton of bricks. Oh, I will miss that boy!

KrippledWarrior said...

YES YES YES CORN DOGS RULE.

nancygrayce said...

WHY, why, why would a man put that on and go out in public???

You'll find this college time goes by so fast! Our youngest just graduated from pharmacy school and it seems just yesterday he was in the fourth grade!

Of course, then second child decided to actually go to college....

Ruth said...

I love the sights on the beach! You have a brilliant collection here. Love the humor and taste.

Hope you have a grand day.

40winkzzz said...

what a fun post! i love your commentary... esp on that last pic...

as for the t-shirt, it reminds me of one that e bought for jared a few years back: stick figures around a campfire roasting hotdogs, one crying & holding an empty stick bc his hotdog has fallen into the fire. caption: "it's all fun & games until somebody loses a weiner." (yes, i DID approve the purchase. i thought the shirt was hilarious. besides, he was in college by that time, so hey-- it isn't my problem if my kid wears a questionable t-shirt. :)